Skip to content Skip to footer

A word from the President

Mr. Abdellatif JOUHARI, Governor of Bank Al-Maghrib and President of the OMTPME.

Abdellatif Jouahri | Luxury Life Morocco

The remit of the Moroccan Observatory for VSME (OMTPME) is to provide key indicators regarding the demographic and economic health of enterprises, especially VSMEs, which constitute an important component of the Moroccan economy, to both public and private sector stakeholders. It also contributes to the discussion on the challenges inherent in the national productive fabric by conducting studies and analyses aimed at helping decision-makers better understand the dynamics and challenges shaping this fabric.. 

The establishment of the Observatory stems from a collaborative process initiated in 2014 with several partners, which accelerated with data exchange agreements concluded as of 2017 with Bank Al-Maghrib, the General Directorate of Taxes (DGI), the National Social Security Fund (CNSS), the Moroccan Office of Industrial and Commercial Property (OMPIC), the Ministry of Industry and Trade, and Morocco SME. This pooling of efforts acted as a catalyst to initiate the set-up of a robust and reliable target and information system, with granular, sufficiently updated, and comprehensive data.  

The economic situation, marked by a succession of crises at the national and international levels, has demonstrated the importance of developing such a system.  

Since its operationalization, the Observatory has produced numerous outputs. In addition to its annual report, its publications have expanded to include specific annual reports for the 12 regions of the Kingdom as well as sectoral notebooks covering particular themes, such as female entrepreneurship, employment by gender and salary bracket, and access to financing. 

Furthermore, the OMTPME is increasingly sought after by national and international institutions, such as ministerial departments, the World Bank, the IMF, the OECD, and the AFI, to contribute to collaborative studies and projects concerning SMEs. telles que les départements ministériels, la Banque mondiale, le FMI, l’OCDE, l’AFI, pour contribuer à des études et projets collaboratifs concernant les TPME.  

I must acknowledge the quality of the efforts and work provided by the Observatory's teams, whose support is crucial for the full accomplishment of its mission.

Skip to content Skip to footer

Mot du Président

M. Abdellatif JOUHARI, Wali de Bank Al-Maghrib et Président de l’OMTPME.

Abdellatif Jouahri | Luxury Life Morocco

L’Observatoire Marocain de la TPME a pour mission de mettre à la disposition des acteurs des secteurs public et privé les indicateurs clés relatifs à la démographie et à la santé économique et financière des entreprises, en particulier des TPME qui constituent une composante importante de l’économie marocaine. Il contribue également à la réflexion sur les enjeux inhérents au tissu productif national en menant des études et analyses visant à  aider les décideurs à mieux appréhender les dynamiques et les défis qui façonnent ce tissu. 

La mise en place de l’Observatoire découle d’un processus de collaboration amorcé en 2014 avec plusieurs partenaires qui s’est accéléré avec les conventions d’échange de données qu’il a conclues à partir de 2017 avec Bank Al-Maghrib, la Direction Générale des Impôts (DGI), la Caisse Nationale de Sécurité Sociale (CNSS), l’Office Marocain de la Propriété Industrielle et Commerciale (OMPIC), le Ministère de l’Industrie et du Commerce, et Maroc PME. Cette conjugaison des efforts a été un catalyseur afin d’initier la mise en place d’un dispositif informationnel cible robuste et fiable, avec des données granulaires, suffisamment mises à jour et exhaustives.  

La conjoncture économique, marquée par une succession de crises à l’échelle nationale et internationale, a montré tout l’intérêt de développer un tel dispositif.  

Depuis son opérationnalisation les productions de l’Observatoire ont été nombreuses.  En effet, outre son rapport annuel, ses publications ont été élargies à des rapports annuels spécifiques aux 12 régions du Royaume ainsi qu’à des cahiers sectoriels couvrant des thématiques particulières, telles que l’entrepreneuriat féminin, l’emploi par genre et tranche de salaires, l’accès au financement. 

En outre, l’OMTPME est de plus en plus sollicité par des institutions nationales et internationales, telles que les départements ministériels, la Banque mondiale, le FMI, l’OCDE, l’AFI, pour contribuer à des études et projets collaboratifs concernant les TPME.  

Je me dois de reconnaitre la qualité des efforts et du travail fournis par les équipes de l’Observatoire dont le soutien est déterminant pour le plein accomplissement de sa mission.